June 25, 2024

NEWS: EY Announces Josh Matthews of Apkudo Mid-Atlantic Award Winner

Kristen Barry
The Entrepreneur of the Year Award celebrates the bold leaders who disrupt markets, revolutionize industries and transform lives.

Ernst & Young LLP (EY US) today announced that Co-Founder and CEO Josh Matthews of Apkudo was named an Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2024 Mid-Atlantic Award winner. Entrepreneur Of The Year is the preeminent competitive awards program for entrepreneurs and leaders of high-growth companies. 

Josh was selected by an independent judging panel made up of previous award winners, leading CEOs, and other business leaders. Candidates were evaluated based on their ability to create long-term value through entrepreneurial spirit, commitment to their purpose, and the demonstration of growth and substantial impact, among other key indicators.

“I’m honored to join an elite group of entrepreneurs who, like me, were inspired to build something new or different in their respective industries,” shared Josh. Apkudo works with customers across the supply chain for connected devices. Millions of phones, laptops, tablets, and wearables are returned or upgraded each year and our robotics, AI and software help customers assess what happens next—whether that means giving it a second life or responsibly recycling its components. The demand for secondary devices continues to rise, and keeping devices in use for as long as possible is great for both people and the planet.

As a Mid-Atlantic award winner, Josh is now eligible for consideration for the Entrepreneur Of The Year 2024 National Awards. The National Award winners, including the Entrepreneur Of The Year National Overall Award winner, will be announced in November at the Strategic Growth Forum®, one of the nation’s most prestigious gatherings of high-growth, market-leading companies. The Entrepreneur Of The Year National Overall Award winner will then move on to compete for the World Entrepreneur Of The Year® Award in June 2025.  

Entrepreneur Of The Year recognizes many different types of business leaders for their ingenuity, courage and entrepreneurial spirit. The program celebrates original founders who bootstrapped their business from inception or who raised outside capital to grow their company; transformational CEOs who infused innovation into an existing organization to catapult its trajectory; and multigenerational family business leaders who reimagined a legacy business model to fortify it for the future. 

The Entrepreneur Of The Year program has recognized the leadership of entrepreneurs such as: 

  • Daymond John of FUBU
  • Hamdi Ulukaya of Chobani, Inc.
  • Holly Thaggard and Amanda Baldwin of Supergoop!
  • Howard Schultz of Starbucks Coffee Company
  • James Park of Fitbit
  • Jodi Berg of Vitamix
  • Kendra Scott of Kendra Scott LLC
  • Michael Happe of Winnebago Industries
  • Reid Hoffman and Jeff Weiner of LinkedIn Corporation
  • Sheila Mikhail of AskBio 

Entrepreneur Of The Year Award winners become lifetime members of a global, multi-industry community of entrepreneurs. They receive exclusive, ongoing access to the experience, insight and wisdom of program alumni and other ecosystem members in more than 60 countries — all supported by vast EY resources.